Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Peaking dish for 119

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    7

    Peaking dish for 119

    I was having trouble yesterday peaking a dish for spanish programming, the AIM would pass on the 99, 101, and 103, but the 119 kept failing. I tried 3 different swm 5 lnb's including a reverse band 5 and 119 would not pass. Is this an issue on DirecTV's end or did I miss something? I've done these many times in the last 2 1/2 years I've been doing this. Dish was pointed at the 192 range with 10 degree leeway.

  2. #2
    Edgecutter inkahauts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    2,185
    Did lone of sight look clear? Did you try a different cable?

  3. #3
    Senior Member caseyf5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Bethpage, NY
    Posts
    896
    Hello albertsmith, Did you try a different dish? Sometimes they can be a problem. An off the wall suggestion. Install an LNB-3 and get it aligned as perfect as possible. Then use an LNB-5 and check the signal strength. If things aren't passing on 119 then do a realignment Even though you call 119 "Spanish" it also has music and some additional channels. I had a discussion with a technician about getting the 5 LNB and he insisted that was only for Spanish programming. Where I live the 5 LNB was required when my first technician did install the Slimline KA/KU Satellite Dish. It would make installations easier if everything came through the LNB-3. I have installed my own second dish with alignment and put in both Reverse band LNB-3's and LNB-5's when they became available.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    7
    That was the thing that was throwing me off. Anything on a SWM 3 would pass, the 119 would not. It was very cloudy at the time. The weird thing is that when I try to lock on to 119 with the AIM, it would go in and out of lock on the signal. Granted, there is a tree to my right, but looking through my inclinometer, it would have been at 200, ten degrees past the 192 I need in my area (Louisiana). Does the swm 5 needed more width of clearance to catch the 119? I've installed these many times and usually if the swm 3 passes, the swm 5 should. I already got a NC truck roll (return) the very next day but it was rescheduled, but I'm having a feeling I'm going to have to relocate the dish or something.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    7
    I'll try a another dish though, I've had that happen once before, but on a swm 3 install.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    7
    According to my inclinometer, it should have worked, at least for a swm 3. Does a swm 5 require a broader range of degree? It's 192 azimuth, 54 elevation with 10 degree leeway, but it was very cloudy at the time.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Tom Speer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Adirondack Mtns, NY and Eastern NC
    Posts
    1,412
    Was the tilt set right for your area?
    Tom Speer, N2HF, the curious otter. Part of the DataDigesters team.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    7
    tilt was correct, but I found out that though the swm 3 satellites work on 192, I needed to see 215 for 119 and come to find out, 215 was hitting a tree, so i wound up relocating the dish to clear the 215 azimuth that I needed to catch the spanish channels. Thanks for all the help!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •