Page 154 of 172 FirstFirst ... 54104144152153154155156164 ... LastLast
Results 1,531 to 1,540 of 1715

Thread: Transponder Maps ~ Data 1/22/2020

  1. #1531
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    394
    "9450 *VMOV 15 D15@103ca 3 4 1130"

    Is the PR test ch. for *VMOV really listed on tp. 4 (TID 3) at 103(ca) instead of 8 (TID 7)?

  2. #1532
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Tobyhanna, PA
    Posts
    424
    That one's not for PR, it was the missing D7S/99cr channel. Now all of the national D7S channels are in test mode on TPNs 1-7.

    The new TPN8s are the rest of the SW2 for PR channels that they didn't add at first.


    The Ka Offline 9538 is an additional commercial PPV HD channel since this Saturday there will be 3 commercial PPV events at the same time, Showtime Boxing, DAZN Boxing and UFC 243.
    Last edited by kyl416; 10-02-2019 at 08:49 PM.

  3. #1533
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    742
    According to "inclined orbit" on satelliteguys who used to work at Directv in one of their uplink centers and knows people who still do, they are having some "equipment trouble" this week and the plan was to have T15 live for customers around the end of next month but opinion now is it may be end of the following month.

    Are the entries for tpns 1-8 on 103ca actual live test channels, or still the same placeholder entries they put in place before T15 moved? Can we even tell the difference, or would only someone with one of the receivers that has an "engineering card" that allows viewing the test channels be able to tell? If they are actual live test channels, it would seem they're ready to move more quickly than end of this month, let alone end of next month.

  4. #1534
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Tobyhanna, PA
    Posts
    424
    Since DirecTV uses that custom implementation of DVB-S2 we can't view the PIDs on each transponder in TSReader like we can with the DSS transponders to verify that the PIDs are actually physically there. So only people with engineering cards can confirm their existence.
    Last edited by kyl416; 10-02-2019 at 09:23 PM.

  5. #1535
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    394
    Although since the satellite receiver s.s. screens don't actually measure the tps.
    RF signal strength, but BER.

    What else could the levels on 103(ca) tps. 1-8 be caused by, but the actual PID streams of the programs?

    Just a bunch of null data packet streams for testing?

  6. #1536
    Super Moderator Gary Toma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    521
    Weekly Analysis of the 10/2/2019 Data

    A small but perhaps telling move in today's data: 3 SD channels to Puerto Rico (462, 468, 469) were migrated from SW2 @99 and are now provided by T16 @101 on NAT+PR beams. I had expected that the SW2 channels would move to D15. Oh Well...


    The attached Analysis Excel provides Complete Change Detail
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. #1537
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    394
    Minor point Gary ...

    But shouldn't those three SD channels be technically called a "Remap" and not an "Add?" ...

  8. #1538
    Super Moderator Gary Toma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    521
    Quote Originally Posted by HoTat2 View Post
    Minor point Gary ...

    But shouldn't those three SD channels be technically called a "Remap" and not an "Add?" ...
    Yes, they probably could just as well be shown as just a remap. It might be more obvious that way.

    But in the sticky logic of our analysis, it shows as a Remove and Add pair because the change of host is at a different orbital position and in different networks. The whole idea is to help us humans notice the changes and grasp what is taking place.

    Thanks for the great observation. From time to time we have situations such as this get us in a difficult position to explain.

  9. #1539
    Super Moderator Tom Speer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Adirondack Mtns, NY and Eastern NC
    Posts
    1,597
    Quote Originally Posted by HoTat2 View Post
    Although since the satellite receiver s.s. screens don't actually measure the tps.
    RF signal strength, but BER.

    What else could the levels on 103(ca) tps. 1-8 be caused by, but the actual PID streams of the programs?

    Just a bunch of null data packet streams for testing?
    The fact that TPNs 1 to 8 are showing non-zero signal strengths says that the receiver is able to lock onto those TIDs, using the parameters in the NIT. Since those parameters are determined by the uplink signal, they are feeding D15 from one of the earth stations, with a carrier, appropriately modulated. (each transponder can receive from the LA area and the Castle Rock area.) Assuming the carrier is carrying any digital information, we have no way of knowing what packet information is on that carrier. It probably contains the appropriate ID packets, but the rest of the packets could conceivably be PID 0000 filler packets. Or it could be they want those transponders live for testing the new Castle Rock feeds to D15, and there are delays in implementation at Castle Rock. G3C, D7S and D14 Reverse Band National transponders were not ever fed from Colorado, as far as I know.
    Last edited by Tom Speer; 10-03-2019 at 03:33 AM.
    Tom Speer, N2HF, Part of the DataDigesters team. A Migratory Common Loon

  10. #1540
    Super Moderator Tom Speer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Adirondack Mtns, NY and Eastern NC
    Posts
    1,597
    Quote Originally Posted by Gary Toma View Post
    Weekly Analysis of the 10/2/2019 Data

    A small but perhaps telling move in today's data: 3 SD channels to Puerto Rico (462, 468, 469) were migrated from SW2 @99 and are now provided by T16 @101 on NAT+PR beams. I had expected that the SW2 channels would move to D15. Oh Well...
    This remap makes perfect sense to me, and I expected it. Why have a separate stream for Puerto Rico, when there is a stream on a National Transponder, that Puerto Rico can receive? I expect every channel for Puerto Rico to be mapped to the stream for the same channel content in the US guide. Only video streams that are available only to Puerto Rico, and not to us here on the mainland need their own separate video PID stream. If Spanish language audio is available for a given stream, it is can easily be transmitted as a second audio PID. That is already common for many channels.
    Tom Speer, N2HF, Part of the DataDigesters team. A Migratory Common Loon

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •